PDA

View Full Version : sick koi???

william r8
09-11-2013, 09:25 PM
hi everyone,
having some trouble with my koi. for those of you who don't know, im very new to koi and got my first fish on Tuesday, a mixed box from new forest koi. the fish were delivered by apc overnight and one of the smaller fish was dead upon arrival. there was also an ill looking koi which didn't make it. the following day i lost 4 of the koi which seemed completely healthy a few hours before when i checked on them. i then found out that the koi were only around 20 weeks old, so i followed the advice of new forest koi and brought the fish inside. i managed to move some of my cichlids around to free a tank for them. the tank is well established and the water is turned over 8-9 times an hour by internal and external filters. yesterday the fish were fine, up until about 10 pm when i left them for half an hour and came back to 2 dead fish and a few others not looking great. i took the dead fish out and did a water change. today there are quite a few of them sitting around at the bottom with clamped fins, and a lot of them seem to be fine one minute, then just freeze for several seconds and start floating to the top. i have also noticed a few of them flicking and the odd one has faded. what is wrong with them? at first i thought it was stress but half of them have settled in fine.

14crazychris
09-11-2013, 09:44 PM
Could possibly be parasites. I would take a scrape if possible ( only if you have a microscope) . Otherwise I would add some salt. This will help the fishes immune system and also help them relax. I would defiantly contact new forest koi, they may come out to have a look free of charge. Definatly get a complete refund.they could have been tossed around in the box which made them stressed. I add 10kg to my 10,000 litre pond so I would go with 1kg per 1000 litres.
Hope this helps.

dogsbody
09-11-2013, 09:50 PM