PDA

View Full Version : New pond build

Big_al
07-04-2011, 03:22 PM
Hi,

I have never built a pond before so looking for advice. I have kept marines for 20+ years so have some knowledge of the importance of filtration to successfully keeping fish, so hopefully with your help I won't make too many mistakes!

I was thinking of a pond 10ft x 11ft x 5 ft deep (3300gals) with a gravity fed bead or nexus filter via a bottom drain and skimmer.

The only location that I have which is suitable is where we used to have a garage which I have partly demolished creating a large shed which could house any filtration equipment. The downside is that the old garage base will have to partly come up as I was thinking in terms of having 2ft above ground level and 3 ft below ground level. So is it a question of building a retaining wall 2 ft high and digging a 3ft square hole,site the bottom drain pipework and dropping a made to measure Butyl liner?

many thanks,

Al,

lazarus
07-04-2011, 04:02 PM
Welcome Al to the koi forum.

Sounds like a realy good project. I will stay tuned in.
Theres lots of people here to help :)

Laz

trickydicky
07-04-2011, 05:17 PM
Hi,

I have never built a pond before so looking for advice. I have kept marines for 20+ years so have some knowledge of the importance of filtration to successfully keeping fish, so hopefully with your help I won't make too many mistakes!

I was thinking of a pond 10ft x 11ft x 5 ft deep (3300gals) with a gravity fed bead or nexus filter via a bottom drain and skimmer.